Adventures With Humans – Deli Guy 04

My Deli Guy… Oh my Deli Guy… Breakfast banter broaching bellicose…

Question 4:  Anyway, a few days ago he asked me, “When things don’t go your way, do you act like an infant, a teenager, or an adult?”

I said that when things don’t go my way I act like an adult, but when I’m happy, I act like a child. It’s important to release those impulses regularly, otherwise they come spewing out when you get upset.

I think our culture encourages adults to be more cutthroat (childish?) than child-like. There’s a difference between child-like and childish. We can’t go skipping down the street, or roll around in the grass, or scream and shout and jump up and down when we’re excited about something. We’ll be ridiculed. We’ll be stared at — horror of horrors! More than once I’ve been accused of being drunk when I let go. We need catharsis.

If our spirit isn’t allowed to run free when we’re happy, it will fester. It will drain the life from us like encroaching yellow on a green leaf; or it will kick the doors open as anger, sadness or frustration.

Recognize when you’ve begun to yellow, and do something about it.

Inevitable? Preventable?

Inevitable? Preventable?

Leave a Reply

