Write Snacks – Mug Cookie Recipe That Works!

I have two elder siblings by blood, and a younger one by… well… I broke his nose once.

We had a big long argument about what my blog should be, and he won. Raiders and Gentlefolk, welcome to the premier of the Writehack/Lifehack category!

Sometimes when I’m writing, I want a snack NOW. Cooking is fun, cooking is a social activity; but it’s also a huge time-suck. I’d rather get up, get a snack, and eat it in the time it takes to find the perfect synonym for ‘slammed.’

Before I found this recipe, my microwave mug-cakes were eggy abominations. Whenever you’re trying a new recipe, make sure you have all the ingredients on hand before you begin. I like to lay everything out on the table before I start, and then put each ingredient away after I’ve used it.

I subbed chopped walnuts for chocolate chips because that’s what I had on hand.

This fills half a standard US coffee mug. Want more cookie? Double the recipe and microwave until solid. Baking is the mad science of tasty ratios.

1 Tablespoon unsalted butter
1 Tablespoon granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon brown sugar, firmly packed
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon (pinch) salt
1 egg yolk
3 Tablespoons all-purpose flour
1-2 Tablespoons chocolate chips

  • Microwave butter in a mug until melted, 30 seconds to 1 minute.
  • With a spoon, mix in sugars, vanilla extract and salt until well-combined. Mix in egg yolk until no traces of the yolk are seen.
  • Mix in flour.
  • Fold in chocolate chips.
  • Microwave on high for 40 seconds, or a maximum of 50 seconds. (I nuked mine for 80 seconds because I’m hardcore like that.)
  • Serve warm, maybe with ice cream.

11 thoughts on “Write Snacks – Mug Cookie Recipe That Works!

  1. Philip Shiell

    What timing!
    We have (as you lot say ,-)) fall vacation here at the moment. So the kids are at home.
    My daughter has just prepared a cookie mix, and by the looks of things – flour everywhere, childish chuckles, kitchen utensils scattered everywhere – these things are going to be huge: they’re gonna look bigger than Cthulhu, rising from the sunken city of R’lyeh.
    If not, we certainly will, especially after witnessing the amount of sugar she’s put in!
    Must try out your recipe.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    1. Setsu Post author

      Hah! Philip I sympathize for your impending Cthookie onslaught and ‘redecorated’ kitchen. Let me know how they turn out. Maybe have the little ones do a comparative taste-test?

      Reply
  2. Philip Shiell

    Cthookie onslaught! LIke it…
    You could put together a Halloween cookie recipe with that.
    Actually, my younger daughter is now in on the action and has created some Halloween shapes: bats, ghosts and things.
    It all smells so nice.

    Reply
  3. margitsage

    This looks so awesome! You don’t know how excited I was to read this yesterday. I am SO looking forward to giving this a try. 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply
  4. Loretta Fisher

    Hahahahaha! Write Snacks are A MUST!!!!! Lately I’ve been really obsessed with salted chocolate almonds. I can do anything if I have about five handfuls of those within reach.

    Reply
    1. Setsu Post author

      I wish my juicer were more efficient. I like to eat stuff that doesn’t require your hands while I’m writing — just a straw.

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Happy Australia Day! AKA Lamingtons Are Amazing | Katana / Pen

Leave a Reply

