Poem for Winter Solstice

Candles in the window
And a chill beyond the wall
My kin are far, the minutes slow
And silent in my hall

I stay awake for Longest Night
The world a wash of grey
Remembering my fam’ly’s light
That each year summoned day

Decades passed and every year
Our dear friends packed together
Laughing, singing, drawing near
Regardless of the weather

My family is scattered now
My voice is weak and drawn
No snow alights on any bough
But I still sing for dawn

sunrise

 Happy Winter to the Northern Hemisphere

Happy Summer to the Southern Hemisphere

5 thoughts on “Poem for Winter Solstice

  1. Jason Del Sol

    Happy New Year Setsu mi amiga! here’s hoping that you had an awesome series of holidays and new years yourself! so many good things to tell ya if ya pop back onto the FB when you get finished on catching up!
    /huggles
    Jason

    Reply

Leave a Reply

