Being ready when you don’t feel ready

Don’t be shy.

I went for a beach ride this past Saturday at Mar Vista Stable. It was breathtaking. The beach succulents that covered the cliffs were were green, tipped with orange, red and gold. Between that and the bit of exposed blue rock, the landscape was a massive rainbow.

One of the women in my party had never ridden a horse before. Her horse was having a bad day, kicking and bucking more than once in the midst of the herd. At the end of the day, she still went around to the other horses and introduced herself. One of them let her pet him, and eventually hug his head.

When she had to, she stayed on the horse, and didn’t cling to fear. She was open to the situation, whatever it was. Because she kept a level head, I did too when her horse spooked mine. It was positively inspiring.

We shy away from scary things. We resist exposure to situations that made us gun-shy. We shade our eyes and shield our souls behind “yes, but” and “I can’t” and “not now”—or worse “I’m not ready/worthy/credentialed.”

Forget that noise.

You are ready. You can be ready and scared. You can be ready and unprepared. You can be ready and full of doubt, because readiness is a state of mind. It is a commitment to the moment, and a decision to be present in your talent.

You are cleverer than you think.

You are more resilient than you dream.

You are tough as a nut, and your nuts are made of steel.

Whatever you’re trying to accomplish—no matter how distant or impossible it may seem—give it a shot. Fail. Lean on someone you trust. Rally. Then, try again.

Try try try. Don’t be shy.

Better to light a candle than curse the darkness,”
― Chinese Proverb

In chaos, there is fertility.”
― Anaïs Nin

Image

Beach ride, January 2014

Mar Vista Stable
Cash only
OPEN WEEKDAYS 9AM TILL 4PM
SATURDAY and SUNDAYS 9AM TILL 4PM
NO RESERVATIONS NEEDED IF RIDING BEFORE 4PM. Check out their web site.

13 thoughts on “Being ready when you don’t feel ready

  1. longchaps2

    I LOVE this. You cut right to the chase. It’s not easy overcoming fear, especially when you are on a thousand pounds of rocketing dynamite. I know what it means to control fear, to move forward while under the threat of it, and to conquer it and to revel in the joy of courage and love of the animal underneath you, even when you know that animal could take you on a wild ride any moment. But still you must step into the light, you must keep trying. You can’t let fear win. Ever. Thank you for this!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Being ready when you don’t feel ready | Ah, The Country Life

  3. longchaps2

    By the way, I found your blog so inspiring I re-posted it on my site. If you would prefer I not do that, please just let me know and I will take it off. I think it will inspire all my other horse friends as it did me. Suz

    Reply
    1. Setsu Post author

      Oh my gosh! Thank you! I’m so happy you liked it! Please feel free to link whenever. My name is Setsu, by the way. So nice to meet you 🙂

      Reply
  4. carrywrites

    Very inspirational post! I’m afraid too often because I’m insecure. But I’m going to try to stop thinking ‘what if this goes wrong?’ and just go for it! Life is too short to be overly careful… And maybe one day I’ll overcome my fear for my easily spooked horse and take him for a ride through the forest…

    Reply
    1. Setsu Post author

      When I took tests in elementary/high school, I always finished first. Not because I was smart, or a good student — but because I knew what I knew and I was aware of what I didn’t know. That’s all I had to offer at the time.

      You get the test back, you learn to fix what went wrong. Same thing with life. If something goes awry, there was probably a reason that you can bring with you next time. Don’t be so hard on yourself. You may not always get it perfect, but you’re always growing.

      Stay interested in what you don’t know, and come back anytime!

      Reply
  5. REDdog

    You are right, of course. I spent years training but still never felt “ready”…it’s amazing what you can achieve if you choose not to back down or walk away or just forge ahead anyway despite feeling inadequate, ill-prepared or less than confident. Good shit as always Beautiful!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Liebster Nomination, and embarassingly personal stuff | KatanaPen

  7. Pingback: San Francisco Writers Convention – Pitchquest | KatanaPen

Leave a Reply

