Singing in the Kitchen

I listened to the Guys & Dolls  not too long ago, so that kind of music has been in my head even though it’s not my favorite genre. I’ve been dancing around the kitchen humming and writing this song in anticipation of tomorrow night’s dinner, which I don’t have to cook.

~

Some girl’s babies make them swoon and crawl
Wind ’em round their finger till they drop their drawers
And once they’re done
They’re on the run
Because they had their cake
But my baby, he just makes me steak.

Some girl’s babies buy them fancy things
Cars and clothes and sparkling little diamond rings
Until they see
That the love ain’t free
And they’re rudely shocked awake
But my baby, he just makes me steak.

Some girl’s babies have just one thing on their mind
A family name, some kittens, and the daily grind
But my boy and me
We let each other free
‘Cause a ring’d be a mistake
That’s why my baby, he just makes me steak.

2 thoughts on “Singing in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

