Narrating Outside My Comfort Zone

PseudoPod 537: A World of Bones by Brian Trent went live on April 7.

When you audition to be a narrator for Escape Artists, we ask for a bit of information. Experience, languages, and dialects are all important; but so is knowing which material you’d consider off-limits. Forcing a performance sucks, both for the narrator and for the audience — and we’d never want our narrators to read anything they feel uncomfortable with. Some narrators prefer not to read sex, some graphic violence, some prefer to stay away from particular themes, and some are down for anything.

I generally decline graphic content, but this story gave me a chance to push those boundaries out a bit. Brian wrote a great, evocative tale, and I’m grateful to him and PseudoPod for giving me this chance to grow as a performer. Turns out I’m far more convincing as an ancient creeper than a heroine.

Shocking, I know.

While I am proud of this one, I will not be telling my parents about it. Lame, I know, but it’s a big step for me.

Here is some of my other voice work. I’ll keep updating the Narration page.

 

Beneath Ceaseless Skies

StarShipSofa

KatanaPen

Pseudopod

Escape Pod

PodCastle

One thought on “Narrating Outside My Comfort Zone

  1. Pingback: Shadows, Shore Leave, and Bones | Brian Trent

Leave a Reply

